OdishaLIVE Bureau

Ram nath Kovind is set to become the 14th President of Independent India.

As the biggest democracy in the world waited for the winner to be announced, this election raised a debate like no other. With both the ruling coalition NDA as well as the opposing parties amalgamated together floating their own candidates Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar respectively, it was touted as a battle of Dalit vs. Dalit, a battle of Ideology and what not.

Finally it was the weight of 522 MPs behind him that made Ram Nath Kovind the 14th President of India in a hard fought battle albeit on the media and promotional front. On paper, though Kovind looked a definite winner for the race because more than 60 political parties, some even outside the NDA fold pledged support for Kovind.

“My fight for secularism, the oppressed & the marginalised continues. I thank all my well wishers for their support & good wishes”, tweeted Meira Kumar after the results were declared.

Kovind will take the oath of Office on 25th July after the current president Pranab Mukherjee vacates the exalted office on 24th July 2017. “Gladdened by the extensive support for Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji among MPs & across various states, I thank members of the electoral college” PM Modi tweeted.

Kovind on his part too thanked the members of the electoral college for turning out in his favour and making him victorious. He is the second dalit after KR Narayanan to hold the esteemed office of the President of India.

The final tally of votes stood at Ram Nath Kovind – 3,69,576 votes , Meira Kumar – 1,59,300 votes while 21 votes were declared invalid.