OdishaLIVE Bureau

Dr. Achyuta Samanta, Founder, KIIT & KISS has been conferred with first ever Kautilya Award by Indian Economic Association (IEA) on 27th December 2017. Dr. Samanta was conferred with this prestigious award on the occasion of the 100th Annual conference of the IEA organised in Acharya Nagarjun University in Guntur of Andhra Pradesh.

Prof. Muhammad Yunus, Nobel Peace Prize winner handed over the award to a representative of Dr. Samanta in his absent. Kautilya award recognised the spectacular financial model of KIIT and KISS and Prof Samanta’s efforts to make it reach the present position with just Rs 5000 as the seed money way back in 1992-93.

In his reaction Dr. Samanta said, “I am humbled to be conferred with first ever Kautilya Award by IEA on occasion of its celebration of centenary year”. The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind, inaugurated the centenary conference of the Indian Economic Association. Among others Governor of Andhra Pradesh, Shri E. S. L. Narasimhan; Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Shri N. Chandrababu Naidu; Nobel Laureate and Founder of the Grameen Bank, Former Governor of Reserve Bank of India, Dr C. Rangarajan; President of Indian Economic Association, Professor Sukhdeo Thorat and Vice Chancellor of Acharya Nagarjuna University, Professor A. Rajendra Prasad were present on the occasion.