OdishaLIVE Bureau

Hema Malini in Bhubaneswar


Dream girl Hema Malini was the star attraction for the Valedictory ceremony of Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra award festival.

The valedictory ceremony of Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra award festival was inaugurated in the presence of distinguished guests Hema Malini, Reputed Cine Actress, Ashok Chandra Panda, Hon’ble Minister, Tourism and Culture, Government of Odisha and Manoranjan Panigrahi, Principal Secy, Culture, Government of Odisha.

The evening opened with Kirwani Madhurima, a neo-classical Odissi dance presentation, scripted by Pt. Nityananda Misra to the original music composition of Dr. Vyzarsu Balasubramaniam and the choreography of Ratikant Mohapatra.

Odissi Dance

A special performance– “Maati”, derived from an inspiring and popular poem by the iconic Odia poet Sri Radha Mohan Gadanayak was also presented. The dance choreography was done by Ratikant Mohapatra. The music composition was by Laxmikant Palit and the script adaptation by Jaydev Das.

Dancers, Rajashri Praharaj, Ritu Sengupta, Pragna Parimita Das, Riyanka Chakrabarty, Aishwariya Singhdev, Sipra Swain, Maya Krishnamurty, Preetisha Mohapatra and Reebdhita Barua presented the composition with great energy and synchronization.

Odissi Dance


The jury of the OMC Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award Festival presented the NALCO Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award to Dr. Sachi Das for his contribution to the field of Theatre and Dramatics and to Sri Lingaraj Behera for his immense contribution to Odissi Dance.

Additionally, the NALCO Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Yuva Prativa Samman was presented to four meritorious young artistes in the area of classical dances and Odissi music for their continuous outstanding performances. They are Sonali Mohapatra (Bhubaneswar) & Subikash Mukherjee (Kolkata) for Odissi Dance, Swati Sinha (New Delhi) for Kathak and Rohan Suresh Dahale (Mumbai) for Odissi Music.

A book named Dancing into Eternity – An endearing view of his multifaceted life and work of Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra published by Ratikanta Mohapatra, Director, Srjan was inaugurated on the concluding evening of OMC Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award Festival.